Make your own free website on

The Philadelphia Eagles

Game Reports
Donovan McNabb
Photo Album
Related Links
Contact Me

Welcome graphic

The Eagles are obviously the best theam in the NFL! Or at least my favorite anyway.  The team began play in 1924 as the Frankfort Yellow Jackets.  The team began play as the Philadelphia Eagles in 1933.

In 1933 Bert Bell and Lud Wray bought the NFL’s Frankford Yellow Jackets and moved the team to Philadelphia. Renamed the Eagles, the club struggled, posting losing records in each of its first ten seasons.

By the mid-1940s, however, the Eagles had improved. From 1947 to 1949, Greasy Neale piloted the club to three consecutive Eastern Division crowns and two league titles. Steve Van Buren, a mainstay of these teams, captured three of his four NFL rushing titles from 1947 to 1949. Pete Pihos led the league in receptions three times during his career and in receiving yards twice. Chuck Bednarik missed just three games in 14 seasons in Philadelphia.
The Eagles captured three NFL titles from 1948 to 1960, earning consecutive crowns in 1948 and 1949 under head coach Earle “Greasy” Neale. His potent offensive squad starred future Hall of Fame members end Pete Pihos, halfback Steve Van Buren, and center Chuck Bednarik, who also played linebacker for the defensive unit.
After posting five losing records in the 1950s, the Eagles won their third NFL crown in 1960. Quarterback Norm Van Brocklin, playing his final season, was named the league’s most valuable player (MVP) after passing for nearly 2500 yards. Van Brocklin’s favorite targets, wide receivers Tommy McDonald and Pete Retzlaff, helped Philadelphia rally to defeat the Green Bay Packers in the championship game.

In 1961 Van Brocklin was replaced at quarterback by another eventual Hall of Fame member, Sonny Jurgensen. In his first full season Jurgensen threw for a league-record 3723 yards, breaking the previous mark by more than 600 yards. (The record is now held by Dan Marino of the Miami Dolphins, who threw for 5084 yards in 1984.) Nearly a third of Jurgensen’s yards went to McDonald, who led the league in yardage (1144) and touchdowns (13).

From 1962 through 1977 Philadelphia employed six different head coaches, but the team could not remain an NFL force. Although the Eagles boasted individual stars in running back Timmy Brown, wide receiver Harold Jackson, quarterback Roman Gabriel, and linebacker Bill Bergey, the Eagles did not reach the playoffs until 1978, Dick Vermeil’s second year as head coach.

From 1978 to 1981 Vermeil guided the Eagles to four consecutive playoff appearances.  Led by wide receiver Harold Carmichael and quarterback Ron Jaworski, Philadelphia played in Super Bowl XV in 1981 but lost to the Oakland Raiders. The club qualified for the playoffs six times from 1988 to 1996, with lineups starring wide receiver Fred Barnett, quarterback Randall Cunningham, running backs Herschel Walker and Ricky Watters, and defensive end Reggie White.

Guided by former Chicago Bears defensive coordinator Buddy Ryan, the Eagles developed a slashing offense centered around Randall Cunningham, who became a skilled passer and also emerged as one of the greatest running quarterbacks in NFL history. Cunningham was the Eagles’ top rusher each year from 1987 to 1990; in 1990 he threw for 30 touchdowns and rushed for more than 1000 yards. Under head coach Ray Rhodes, Philadelphia earned Wild Card berths in the playoffs in 1995 and 1996.
In 1998, the Eagles used their #2 draft pick on Syracuse QB Donovan Mcnabb, much to the displeasure of their fans.  However, McNabb used the displeasure as motivation, and lead the Eagles to the best record in the NFL from 2000-2003.  They have also made three consecutive NFC Championship game appearances, losing all three. 

In the News

WIth the Patriots loss, the Eagles are the only undefeated team left in the NFL

Trivia Question

Who led the Eagles in TD catches last season?
*If you know the answer, please submit it in the "Contact Me" section of the site

Last Trivia Question: Who led the Eagles in sacks last season?
Answer: Corey Simon with 7.5






Fly Eagles Fly!